foam + granite

Below is a picture of foam and granite along the coastal rocks just west of Petrel Cove on the southern Fleurieu Peninsula. 

 It was made on a day  after the big storm in early May.  Though the  storm had passed  the seas were still surging and they  were too rough for the surfers.  The 2 metre high waves dumped,  rather than rolled into the shore.  

The picture  above refers back to this earlier  picture of foam as well as  to this one.   This is what the littoral zone looks like during,  or just after,  a big storm from the south west.   The foam quickly vanishes. 

  A  huge wave swept over the  rock I was standing  to take the photo just after I'd made the photo. I just managed to avoid being caught by the wave.I heard the wave  coming whilst I was photographing. It was a rogue wave. So I quickly moved  to the foot of the cliffs.  On other occasions that morning I was not so lucky.  I wasn't quick enough.  I was too absorbed in photographing the foam. Wet shoes, socks and pants was the result. I managed to keep the digital camera dry though.